Thursday, August 13, 2015

Jubilee Manor by Bethany Hagen

*An ARC of this book was given to me in exchange for an honest review.*

Publication Date: August 11, 2015
Publisher: 
Pages:

The thrilling conclusion to Landry Park is full of love, betrayal, and murder--perfect for fans of DivergentThe Selection, and Pride and Prejudic

In Landry Park, Madeline turned her back on her elite family, friends, and estate to help the Rootless. Now, in Jubilee Manor, she struggles to bring the Gentry and the Rootless together. But when Gentry heirs—Madeline’s old friends—are murdered, even she begins to think a Rootless is behind it, putting her at odds with the boy she loves and the very people she is trying to lead. If she can’t figure out who is killing her friends and bring them to justice, a violent war will erupt and even more will die—and Madeline’s name, her estate, and all the bonds she’s forged won’t make any difference.

This conclusion to Landry Park, which VOYA dubbed "Gone with the Wind meets The Hunger Games,” is a richly satisfying, addictive read.
My Thoughts:
Wow. What a great conclusion to this story! Plus I love the fact that I don't have to wait for another book! YAY! 

This was a great book, maybe even better than the first. I love a story with balls, gorgeous gowns, manners, society etc. But what makes this even more is the touch of dystopian that was in Landry Park. A high society oppressing a lower society and a girl and boy from each side brought together. *sigh* makes an epic story. 

With this book it's no different. oh, I'll admit it started of slow but then I couldn't put it down! 

I loved Madeline's character development here, between the last book and this one she grew up A LOT. Meaning, she REALLY came out of herself. I loved that no matter who it was with she had her priorities straight and she was strong. Not strong physically like we see in some many of the other YA "strong female characters" but strong in the sense of character. She wanted what was right for her and those she loved plus those in both the Gentry and Rootless society. 

I really enjoyed the conflict of the story. When Madeline's old friends are murder she thinks it's the Rootless behind the murders. Can you blame her? She is still young and makes mistakes, she is human but with some strength. She started something in book one and was determined to see it through with book two, and it was perfect. I loved the political intrigue. 

I loved especially the relationship between Madeline and David because it wasn't a toxic relationship, in many aspects it was a legit real relationship where you argue about real important stuff not just silly teen stuff but stuff that actually mattered and YET through it all they were still able to see and love each other. I love that! It's realistic and tender and sweet. 

Overall these 2 books are so worth reading, I love the whole element of the story. 


*A huge thank you to Dial and PenguinTeen for this ARC.*

1 comment:

  1. Really need to read Landry Park soon! ! Just to let you know, I've nominated you for the Sisterhood of the World Blogger Award - http://bmariebooks.blogspot.co.uk/2015/08/sisterhood-of-world-bloggers-award.html

    ReplyDelete