Thursday, October 17, 2013

Book Review: The Deepest Night By: Shana Abe

Book Description:
A rich portrait of post-Victorian England, The Deepest Night seamlessly blends thrilling romance with riveting history and adventure—perfect for fans of Libba Bray and Lauren Kate.
It’s 1915, and sixteen-year-old Lora Jones is finishing up her first year as a charity student at Iverson, a prestigious, gothic boarding school on England’s southern coast. While she’s always felt different from everyone around her, now she finally knows why: She is a drákon, a rare, enchanted being with astonishing magical abilities.

As war hits Britain’s shores, and Lora reels from an unimaginable loss, she finds that her powers come with grave and dangerous responsibilities. At the request of Armand Louis, the darkly mysterious boy whose father owns Iverson, Lora will spend her summer at his lavish estate. To help the war effort—and to keep Lora by his side—Armand turns his home into a military hospital, where Lora will serve as a nurse. For Armand is inescapably drawn to her—bound to her by heart-deep secrets and a supernatural connection that runs thicker than blood.

Yet while Lora tries to sort out her own feelings toward Armand, fate offers an unexpected surprise. Lora discovers there is another drákon, a prisoner of war being held in Germany. And that only she, with her newly honed Gifts, will be able to rescue him.

With Armand, Lora will cross enemy lines on an incredible mission—one that could bond her to Armand forever, or irrevocably tear them apart.

Beautifully written, deeply romantic, and filled with daring adventure and magic, The Deepest Night is a mesmerizing novel of the enduring pull of destiny, and the eternal strength of love.

My Thoughts:
I have been really enjoying this series!
Even though it's about people turning into dragons it's quite and enjoyable series!

I like how the book takes off from where the author left the last book so there was no "catching up."
I love the adventure and the romance in this book. The writing is wonderful I enjoyed Shana Abe's writing and describing the beautiful landscapes, thoughts, feelings,  of the characters and the places they visit.

So in this book Lora is still grieving the loss of her love Jesse who became a star in the first book. She has come to terms with the fact that she is drakon (someone who can transform from human to dragon). Armand, also drakon, is not yet able to shift into either form. I love that he has also fallen in love with Lora who is a nameless orphan and charity student at an exclusive girls' school. Their social classes couldn't be farther apart and the fact that he has fought this attraction and I loved how the author did it. I love Armand's character and the character development of him in the first and now this book.

Lora and Armand spend time together because they are both drakon even though Lora tries to avoid him, she knows of his feelings toward her and yet Lora is not ready to fall in love with him. When they find out that Armand's older brother (who supposedly died in the first book during the war) is alive and has been captured, Armand and Lora take off to rescue him.

Along the way they face many dangerous situations and things become even more complicated when Armand makes his first shift into smoke and is almost lost. To save his life Lora makes a deal with the stars to exchange her life for his. Armand survives but now Lora is waiting for her life to end. When it doesn't it leaves the reader wondering then what the stars have in mind for her.

Overall I liked it and will read the next book!  :D

Violence: mild
Sexual Content: mild (except naked times when the characters have transformed)

No comments:

Post a Comment